Cousins

March 6, 2009 at 1:12 am 8 comments

christmas-2009-girls-on-phones1Our littlest grandgirls are toddlers now, one dark, one light and so lucky to have each other.  All of my cousins were too many years older than me to be friends.   Where I live in southeastern Ohio, everyone has cousins among their circle of friends.  I think those have to be the coolest relationships ever.  bren-and-ayla-playingNot so all knowing of your every flaw and mistake as a sibling, but, like these two, linked by sisters.  Friends that have to learn how to overcome their differences, because some Aunt, Uncle or grandparent will make you.  Someone just your size so you can share clothes, and your mother can’t get mad if they don’t return that special shirt or pair of shoes…because bren-and-ayla-with-cakeit’s family.  Somebody that will save you a seat a lunch, always have your back in a playground rumble and still likes you even when your hair is a mess and your face is covered with cake crumbs.  I think it must be really cool to have a cousin your age.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Man In The Hole Documenting Today

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nessa  |  March 6, 2009 at 2:13 am

    They are beautiful and the relationship you describe is wonderful.

    Reply
  • 2. LJ  |  March 6, 2009 at 7:01 am

    It’s very cool! I remember my cousin was in my class from grade 1 to grade 8 when I moved away. She was a friend off and on. But loved me nonetheless.

    Reply
  • 3. Hayden  |  March 6, 2009 at 7:05 am

    very sweet. I had one cousin (that I knew, there were others but our parents were estranged) and he was much, much older. I never thought much about having a same-age cousin, just wished I had “more family” and envied those who had enough to do family reunions.

    Reply
  • 4. anhinga  |  March 6, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Cousins are special to someone growing up in Texas. I still keep in touch with many of mine over the miles and years. I also encourage as much interaction of our grandchildren with their cousins (our other grandchildren). 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Quilly  |  March 6, 2009 at 10:32 am

    I love my cousins. I hope this two share at least as many adventures as I shared with my cousins.

    Reply
  • 6. Dave M  |  March 6, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Hi Kat….good to hear from you again, but also sorry to hear about Pap. I hope things turn around soon. Yes, growing up with your cousins is something special and it is a special relationship you’ve describe. But how many of us have kept in contact with them as we have got older. Unfortunately I havent.

    Reply
  • 7. Wanderlust Scarlett  |  March 6, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    SO TRUE!!!

    It’s wonderful to have cousins the same age. I love the post, love the photos, and really love the fact that you thought enough about it to write about and share it with us. Thank you!

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

    Reply
  • 8. guyana gyal  |  March 9, 2009 at 2:21 am

    These cousins here are so adorable, they make my eyes ‘sweat’. Aw, they’re sweet.

    My cousin Nan, 11 months younger, was my partner in crime, my best friend, my twin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


