Documenting Today

March 8, 2009 at 7:07 am 9 comments

the-jetsons2I don’t know why, but the thought of those old time capsules we used to make in grade school popped into my head this morning. Did you do that when you were a kid? Some kind of box or cylinder, everyone would put something in it that they felt best represented the times we were in, and then somebody buried it with instructions to dig it up sometime in the far future. When I was back there sticking my Bobby Sherman poster in the cylinder, we imagined 2009 would look like what we saw on the Jetsons.  I’m really bummed that I don’t have a Rosie cleaning this place up and cooking for me so I can go about my business.

I don’t remember when I started keeping lists, but I suspect the first one was made with stick figures in crayon.  Without a list, I tend to just wander through my day piddling at this and putzing around with that.  So I have lists, calendars, day planners and random notes of things I might have done that weren’t already on the list.  Now what, you may be saying, does any of this have to do with the first paragraph of this post talking about time capsules?  I can’t throw any of these lists away. 

Eventually I’m going to die of old age, which means there may be boxes of these weird lists and notes among the serious paperwork everyone leaves behind, especially if they’re a writer.  I’m trying to imagine what future listsgenerations will make of this mess.  For instance, last week’s list includes various things I needed to do at home, for the paper, for my writing group, the arts council, and the theater.  Scribbled all around are notes like “make octopus”, “work on Living Live!”, “jungian plot—what does that mean???”, “check dog’s poop”…. it makes perfect sense today, but I’m not sure even I will know what that means a few years from now.

Entry filed under: home, Life, randomness. Tags: .

Cousins Extracurricular Take Over

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LJ  |  March 8, 2009 at 8:25 am

    I love to make lists too. I’m making a packing list for our trip. I only have to search out any spiral bound notebook in this house and find packing lists from past trips. I’m also in this phase of panic for the planet and don’t like to write too much on paper for fear of waste and cluttering up landfills. Little old me is worried about the planet. Anyway… I just might have to date my lists and keep them too in a box somewhere and look at them years from now! I think it’s fun to know what I did 10 or even 15 years ago. I’m a nostalgic person at heart.

    Reply
  • 2. Quilly  |  March 8, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    I have my blog to keep track of past adventures …..

    Reply
  • 3. anhinga  |  March 8, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    You struck a nerve with me. I have a current to-do list always on top of my desk and a master list just under it. The “masters” are projects I keep putting off mostly. I don’t save them. It is so satisfying to whiddle a list down to a few unmarked items and start a new one. But I add and add to the new one (sometimes from the master list) until it looks burdensome, too. It is the only way I get things done, though, the only.

    Let me admit to my packrat proclivity. I have every calendar since 1967, with every school function, pediatrician appointment, even birth of youngest. Forty-two years of our family’s life in one spot. Somewhere in the attic is the diary I kept during my teen years. Perhaps historians in jet powered suits will learn something of our culture from all this one day. Perhaps so, but I fear they will still be “jetting” about in SUV’s.

    Reply
  • 4. Nessa  |  March 8, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    I do the same thing. I can not live without my lists and I save them all. I recently looked back on some from 30 years ago and was shocked to find they seemed so current.

    Reply
  • 5. Absolute Vanilla  |  March 8, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    Ah now, before future generations think you were totally cracked, perhaps you should start tossing some of those lists away! 😉

    And time capsules, oh I loved them. My cousin and I would collect bits of broken glass, did a hole, line it with the glass, but our bits in, very often flowers and shells, then cover it over with more glass and then cover the lot with sand. Though I’m sure anyone digging through the garden of my childhood home may well have ended up with cut fingers!

    Reply
  • 6. guyana gyal  |  March 9, 2009 at 2:18 am

    Me, me, I’m a list maker. It helps me to not fiddle, fumble and be befuddled.

    I was thinking about time capsules too, must’ve been something on tv…American news…plastic soda bottles would store things well, won’t they? They don’t ‘break down’, do they?

    I was thinking that I have NO idea what I’d put in a time capsule.

    I’m sorry to hear about Pap, I hope he recovers.

    Reply
  • 7. Hayden  |  March 9, 2009 at 6:50 am

    aeiiii, I’m trying to swear off of lists. They wear me out.

    Reply
  • 8. Dr. John  |  March 10, 2009 at 4:20 am

    When we moved to Neenah we found some of those old lists in the back of the desk drawer. They no longer made any sense and were sort of funny.

    Reply
  • 9. Little old me  |  March 10, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    I love a good list, and when I am having a boaring day I make them off in different colours. Yes I am a sad bunny!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


