Mysterious Noises

March 11, 2009 at 11:13 pm 15 comments

The house was dark except for the glow of my computer screen.  That’s my favorite way to write, the fewer the distractions the easier it is to slip into my story.  Last night all the stars had aligned.  The office was the perfect temperature, not too warm, not too cool.  The dog, cat and Pap were sound asleep but not yet snoring loud enough to disturb me.  I was smokin’ through the bothersome middle of a particularly complicated short story I’m writing when I heard squeaking from the laundry room . 

Our miniature laundry room is just behind the wall of my computer.  I tried to ignore the sound, it was windy last night, so I really tried to assign that annoying sound to something inanimate.  But it kept up, that keening, screech I couldn’t readily identify.  The hair started to bristle on the back of my neck.  Could be a mouse, a rat, a snake in from the field biting a mouse.  A mole, a squirrel… and then there was a brushing sound added to the squeaking and I gave up all hope of finishing that story. 

I carefully opened the door and flipped on the light.  Nothing on the floor, but the sound was really loud in there and when I looked up at the ceiling, the dryer vent was bulging, something black or brown visible through the thin white skin of the vent.  I slammed the door and woke up Pap, which woke up Walker, who then woke up the cat.  All four of us trooped back to the laundry room, Pap opened the door, said a very bad word and then turned on the dryer. 

That caused all kinds of rucus in the vent.  “Bird.”  He said. 

This morning we went outside and found that the stupid black birds have chipped away at the vent guard and were trying to make a nest in there.  Stupid things.  black-bird

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Extracurricular Take Over Writers on Sculptors

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nessa  |  March 11, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Man, why can’t those things mind their own beeswax?

    Reply
  • 2. Quilly  |  March 11, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    LOL! I probably would have been invisioning scenes from every horror movie I have ever seen!

    Reply
  • 3. Quilly  |  March 11, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    here is the e you need to correct my spelling. Please use it and return the “i”. 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Jamaican Dawta  |  March 11, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Glad it wasn’t a rat or worse, a snake!

    Have missed you immensely. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  March 11, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    Nessa – Aint that the truth! Doggone critters just love me.
    Quilly – I would happily comply if I could find a spelling error….???
    JD – Thank you, I’ve missed you too!

    Reply
  • 6. anhinga  |  March 12, 2009 at 1:16 am

    See, you wrote an alternate short story right there. You had me on the edge of my seat. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Dr. John  |  March 12, 2009 at 2:46 am

    The bird was smart enough. She found a warm , safe , private place to nest that was perfect till some meddling human turned on the dryer.

    Reply
  • 8. Jon M  |  March 12, 2009 at 3:29 am

    Reminds me of a time when pigeons nested in our chimney, not nice when we lit the fire!!!

    Reply
  • 9. anhinga  |  March 12, 2009 at 4:55 am

    My friend has mockingbirds nesting in her chimney, so she stopped using it, deciding that the beautiful song echoing from the fireplace more than replaced the ambiance of a fire. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  March 12, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Anhinga – You’re too nice. But I don’t think they’ve invented flash non-fiction yet. Your friend is much nicer than I.
    Dr. John – There are plenty of nice trees out there for her, I need my dryer vent!
    Jon M – Roasted pigeons?

    Reply
  • 11. Little old me  |  March 12, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    We had a pigeon down our chimmey once and I made hubby take out some bricks so I could get it out, he was best pleased, but I couldn’t leave it there.

    Reply
  • 12. rel  |  March 12, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Kat,
    Creepy noises in the night, creatures in the vent, snoring for background noise; whew, a mystery in the making for sure. The birds are always looking for places to get in outta the rain and cold. For years we’ve had starlings nesting in the chimney of our woodstove.
    Come to think of it, they’ve not been around this year. Hmmm, maybe they’re in Ohio. 😉

    Great to hear from you! You’ve been missed.
    rel

    Reply
  • 13. Wanderlust Scarlett  |  March 12, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    OH! That’s awful!

    And right in the middle of your write too!
    *disgust*

    Well, perhaps it will all work out again on another night very soon, and you can get back to the words!

    ;o)
    Good luck with it!

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

    Reply
  • 14. DaveM  |  March 12, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    We can always be relied up to come out with an expletive when suddenly woken up from a deep deep sleep.

    Reply
  • 15. Janet  |  April 25, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    wonder if there were feathers in the dryer?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


