Girl Scout Controversy

March 16, 2009 at 3:50 pm 11 comments

I love the Girl Scout program, but this breaking news made me a little cranky this morning:

A girl needs to sell enough cookies to get herself to camp.  She tries going door to door, but she’s running out of time and hasn’t sold near enough to pay her way.  She puts up  a beautiful website and in days has sold and shipped 700 boxes of cookies.  That’s when the Girl Scout Council stepped in and ordered her to take the website down claiming “the cookie sale is meant to be a face to face experience.”

(Insert raspberry sound here)  Come on!  I haven’t had a real scout knock on my door in 20 years.  I’ve had plenty of parents handing me sheets to order cookies at work or church.  You can drop into any factory in America during the cookie sale time and find order sheets tacked to the bulletin board.  I’ve seen mothers (sometimes with a couple of Scouts running around the parking lot) selling boxes of cookies in front of Walmart. 

Whatever “skills” the Girl Scout Council intended the girls to learn in the beginning went right out the window when they added a competitive element to the program and set quotas by troop. 

 It irritates me on another level too.  We’ve stood calmly by while this generation of kids has been provided with computers, ipods, cell phones and other communication devices.  We’ve said nothing when they started networking socially through these electronic means instead of hanging out at the local diner.  Of course they’re going to rely on this network to sell their cookies. 

I applaud the Girl Scout Council for attempting to create a program forcing the girls personly interact, but the cookie sale is no longer the place for it.  Not when this sale is the primary revenue stream for most troop activities.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Writers on Sculptors Brain Damaged

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nessa  |  March 16, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    I agree. This is not a Girl Scout cookie sale this is a PARENTS of Girl Scouts cookie sale and everyone knows it.

    It is our fault as adults for not making sure our children know how to use the tools we invented and gave them.

    Reply
  • 2. Little old me  |  March 17, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    I find this type of thing really anoying. When I used to work in a school this type of thing used to go on with sponcer froms. The child who rasied the most would get a prize, so the child who had the parent who worked in a big company would always win. When really every penny is a needed penny aproach should be taken

    Reply
  • 3. Quilly  |  March 17, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    When I was a child it was considered “unsafe” to go door-to-door and sell. We were forbidden. Many stores will not let you sell in front of them. Those stores that do allow such a thing, are usually already affiliated with a group who has a relative on the store payroll.

    The child who sells the most cookies has a huge family, OR a host of relatives urging their friends and co-workers to buy cookies. I think the young entrepreneur should be hailed for finding a way to sell her own cookies.

    Reply
  • 4. Hayden  |  March 17, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    yes, something dreadfully wrong about the entire mess. I always resented the parents pushing cookies/candy/garbage at work, and the implicit requirement that we all buy – despite the fact that I neither eat that crap nor have children they must buy from.

    I always buy when a kid shows up at my door. I make them help me choose, and after I pay I ask them if they will do me the great favor of eating it for me too. It’s a great game, the look on their face as they realize I’m serious is the best treat of all. I just love having them show up at my doorstep!

    Reply
  • 5. hammer  |  March 18, 2009 at 6:17 am

    The parents are afraid to send their girls door to door so the parents do the work.

    the internet idea was clever, but heck the girlscouts of America could just do that themselves and forget the human element.

    Reply
  • 6. diesel  |  March 18, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Thank God somebody is defending my right to continue to annoyed by children peddling crap door-to-door rather than selling directly to willing customers over the Internet.

    Reply
  • 7. Dave M  |  March 18, 2009 at 11:55 am

    I think the Scout Council should co op her onto their marketing team, with skills like this she will be an asset to them.

    Reply
  • 8. Jon M  |  March 19, 2009 at 2:39 am

    I’d probably eat all the biscuits before they got near a door or a website…

    Reply
  • 9. Alpine McGregor  |  March 25, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Girl Scouts aren’t selling enough cookies! But you can be assured the bureaucrats of Girl Scouts Inc. will be the last to suffer…

    Despite what this article and others in the Herald imply, profits from Girl Scout cookies don’t go straight to charity. Nope, “operating expenses” – including bankrolling lots of cushy jobs – must be deducted first! No wonder there’s so little money left over this year.

    Check it out:
    http://tinyurl.com/girlscoutcookiesareevil

    Reply
  • 10. Alpine McGregor  |  March 25, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Sorry, that didn’t make a lot of sense…accidentally cut and pasted from a comment I left at the Boston Herald. Suffice it to say, I’m pretty suspicious of this whole Girl Scout Cookie enterprise.

    Reply
  • 11. Janet  |  April 25, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    I hate it when I’m asked by a parent to buy the cookies. I’d much rather buy them from a girl herself. I guess it’s not safe anymore for them to go door-to-door, what with all the child molesters nowadays.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


