Birthdays and A Little Matchmaking

March 27, 2009 at 7:25 am 19 comments

I have memories of only two birthday parties from my childhood.  Since my birthday is just one week before Christmas, it must have been tough to get such a thing organized.  One was when I was young enough to feel miffed that I couldn’t win any of the games, the other was the year I turned 13 and my parents flew my friends from Maryland in to our new house in Pennsylvania. 

Youngest grandgirl, Ayla, will not suffer such a fate.  Her mom is aayla-birthday-party kindergarten teacher that waited a very long time for a baby.  At her second birthday there was a bounce house to share with her friends and cousins.  Not to mention her snazzy ensemble honoring her favorite Sesame Street character, Abby Cadabby.ayla-second-birthday  Then there’s that dance thing she got to do with her very cool older half sister.  ayla-presents1No birthday would be complete without presents and there were plenty of those too.

Yup, Ayla is one lucky kid, I know because I raised her mother.

ayla-with-michelleWho just happens to be single, by the way.  So if you have sons or grandsons, between 27-32, gainfully employed, must love children and go to church…e-mail me and let’s hook ’em up. 

I’m kidding Michelle!

(Not really, everyone else)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Some Things Just Shouldn’t Be Repeated Retirement is not for Sissies

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Quilly  |  March 27, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Ayla is a doll and her mom is gorgeous! Somebody just might take you up on the matchmaking!

    Reply
  • 2. Quilly  |  March 27, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Oh hey, I just put a short story up on my blog. Want to read it?

    Reply
  • 3. Nessa  |  March 27, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Your daughter and grand-daughter are beautiful.

    Reply
  • 4. LJ  |  March 27, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    I agree they are beautiful!! It’s a wonder they’re single!

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  March 27, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Well, Quilly, I hope someone does! Look at the success you and OC have had. I’ll be right over to read your short story.

    Nessa – Thanks, more importantly, they’re nice.

    LJ – Recently single. She was married for ten years to a guy who thought he was Peter Pan. They were divorced last fall.

    Reply
  • 6. Absolute Vanilla  |  March 27, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Wish I could oblige but I have neither sons nor grandsons! And funny, just last night a friend of mine was making a similar lament, only she was looking for a girl for her boy… Now, there’s a thought… Only he’s in London…

    Reply
  • 7. Wanderlust Scarlett  |  March 28, 2009 at 12:39 am

    They are both quite lovely!

    Good luck with the matchmaking… the song is stuck in my head now.

    Matchmaker, matchmaker, make me a match,
    Find me a find, catch me a catch…
    la la la…

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

    Reply
  • 8. Barb  |  March 28, 2009 at 4:09 am

    Hey Friend,
    how come your blog gets photos and I donn’t, no need to tell me how lucky anyone would be to have Michelle as a partner,
    Ayla would be the frosting on the cake.
    love from
    Downunder.

    Reply
  • 9. Quilly  |  March 28, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Kat, you did not come and read my short story! You came and read a true silly from OC and I! My story is
    http://quilldancer.com/2009/03/26/three-word-thursday-7

    Reply
  • 10. zhadi1  |  March 29, 2009 at 6:09 am

    What a little cutie Ayla is!

    Reply
  • 11. Hayden  |  April 5, 2009 at 8:54 am

    They are both beautiful!

    Reply
  • 12. katherine.  |  April 7, 2009 at 9:46 am

    just surfing through to say hey!

    Reply
  • 13. Janice  |  April 7, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    They are both absolutely gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 14. smileymamaT  |  April 8, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Yeah you know you’re not kidding… 🙂 they are so pretty, both of them, wow! I think your list of must-have credentials is exactly right. And that party looks like a lot of fun. I want one like that when I turn … um… one year older this summer. Hah.

    Reply
  • 15. guyana gyal  |  April 30, 2009 at 4:28 am

    Your daughter is lovely, Kat, so is her daughter.

    I loooove matchmaking, I hope you find someone for her. I’m completely romantic and think everybody should have someone…but someone good and kind and suitable in all the right ways.

    Reply
  • 16. Little old me  |  May 5, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Kat are you OK, it’s been a long time?

    Reply
  • 17. Wanderlust Scarlett  |  June 1, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Hey!

    Where’d you go?
    Hope that things are okay.

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

    Reply
  • 18. J  |  June 6, 2009 at 9:17 am

    Kat? Where are you hon?
    Hope all is well and you’re just simply busy.

    Reply
  • 19. Little old me  |  June 9, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Kat are you out there

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


