Unconditional Love

June 12, 2009 at 4:33 am 11 comments

Walker cuteAs a mother, I’m familiar with unconditional love.  It is  the stony hearted person that can pick up a newborn baby and not feel like they’d throw themselves into the path of a speeding semi-truck rather than have this tiny child feel one moment of pain or sadness.  But even that all consuming love is trumped by the love of this dog for me and Pap.  Walker is my almost constant companion.  If I feel like sleeping, he’s sleeping.  Should I suddenly decide to take a run around the block, he’s all about it.  He has a basket full of toys, and full run of the house.  But none of that really matters to him.  He just wants us. 

I knew I was over scheduled last week when I came home from an appointment and found him sleeping on my pillow with one of Pap’s shirts between his paws.  Now that is just sad.  The difference between this dog and any one of my kids who may have been missing me is he was more delighted that I was home than mad that I’d been gone.  People are never that forgiving.  We can learn a lot from a dog.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Retirement is not for Sissies Another Art Walk Just a Memory

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Quilly  |  June 12, 2009 at 7:01 am

    Dogs are about the only source of unconditional love here on earth. I am so glad God made them. I wish I had one in my life now that Amoeba and I are again (temporarily) 3000 miles apart.

    Reply
  • 2. Little old me  |  June 12, 2009 at 9:37 am

    My cat used to be like that

    Reply
  • 3. Nessa  |  June 12, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    There isn’t anything like the love of a dog. Mine is the same and I feel so guilty I don’t treat him as well as he treats me but he never holds it against me.

    Reply
  • 4. Family Man  |  June 12, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    That is so true. All our dogs want from us is to know that they are a part of our lives. Rather than be mad when we are gone, all they want is to be happy when we are around.

    Reply
  • 5. Inara/Dana  |  June 13, 2009 at 2:03 am

    Awwww!!! That is so sweet! Several of my cats are also like that – when I come home, they race down the stairs and climb the little bench in the entryway. I lean over and they kiss me. One will climb up and put his paws around my neck. It is an amazing feeling…

    Reply
  • 6. anhinga  |  June 13, 2009 at 8:33 am

    My cats are like that, too. They pretend to summon me for food, to open the door, anything, but all they want is my attention. It is a huge responsibility to be so loved and wanted.

    Walker is adorable, BTW.

    Reply
  • 7. Dave M  |  June 13, 2009 at 11:53 am

    Hi Kat , good to hear from you and pleased things are going ok for you. Yes, dogs always love you, no matter if you’re in a bad mood or what. And they know when you want a bit of attention and also when to leave you alone.

    Reply
  • 8. Rita Smith  |  June 13, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    My dogs are always waiting for me when I come home. Ken says that they begin lining up at the door about the time I hit Maysville. Oh, and the cats are glad to see me too!

    Reply
  • 9. Barb  |  June 14, 2009 at 7:56 am

    Hi Kat.
    so glad to see you back on your blog, means I can worry about you less. sorry to upset the cat People.
    BUT
    there is nothing like a dog for unconditional love because
    dog spelt backwards is GOD
    enough said.
    Bye.
    Love from downunder

    Reply
  • 10. Absolute Vanilla  |  June 14, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    My dogs taught me about unconditional love – and I think Barb has it spot on – dog spelled backwards is god. 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Hayden  |  June 18, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Ain’t it the truth. More than once I’ve turned to discover Jake already curled up on my just-removed shirt or jeans. Pups! Gotta’ love ’em.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds


