Mirror, Mirror

January 15, 2010 at 8:38 pm 19 comments

I have never been one of those girls who spent a lot of time in front of a mirror. “Pretty” wasn’t a big deal growing up, “smart” or “athletic” was. Before I retired I spent only enough time in front of the mirror to make sure there was no lipstick on my teeth, my skirt wasn’t tucked into my underware and my hair was tamed as much as seasonably possible. I can’t remember the last time I actually looked in the mirror without focusing on just one specific part of my body.

Today I stepped out of the shower (sorry about that visual) and came face to face with me by accident. Holy cow! That was scary. When did I get so old? The internal me is still about 24. She is the face that I wear in my head all day. How shocking to see my mother looking back at me.  Wait, no, that’s an insult to my mother who was a beautiful and well kept woman even when she was much older than me.  It’s no wonder people keep telling me I look tired!

I don’t really want to look 24 again if for no other reason than it would make me look silly next to Pap. But I can do better than this.  It’s time to quit fooling around.  I need to eat more vegetables and drink more water.  I need to step away from my sedentary hobbies and jump on that treadmill.  Overhaul my wardrobe, make a trip to the hairdresser.  Yeah, that’s exactly what needs to happen.

If none of that works…there’s always plastic surgery.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ridiculous Back! What a Journey….

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anhinga  |  January 15, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Even lifelong primpers like me have that mirror shock moment at some point. With me it is usually reflection in a store window. I’ve learned how to fool myself at home with the light, angles and mirrors just right. I won’t go to the mailbox without makeup. 🙂

    It is good you are taking time to work on you. That’s what retirement is for. At 72, I stillI take aerobics/pilates, do yoga and ride my bike, but those are lifetime pursuits. More is needed. There are good skin creams out there and a non-surgical face lift, but don’t know how long it lasts. Right now I am seriously considering those Sketcher shoes that give you exercise as you walk.

    Good for you for getting on your YOU project.

    Reply
  • 2. Dave M  |  January 15, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    I see my Dad every morning in the mirror, its uncanny, I even cough like him too. Not sure whether I’ve reached 24 in my head as it often fluctuates between 18 and 28. Its good to take stock though Kat, buy a bike ,,,,,and use it, daily if possible. Shopping getting the paper etc the mileage will soon mount up. Its cheaper than a gym and much more fun. Go for it.

    Reply
  • 3. quilly  |  January 16, 2010 at 2:40 am

    Not too long ago I leaned into the mirror to put my mascara on and saw my grandmother’s eyes looking back at me. That was quite a shock!

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  January 16, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Anhinga – I’ve been eyeballing those sketcher shoes myself. Their just so darn ugly!

    Dave – I’ve been thinking about buying a bike for some time, I just wasn’t sure I’d get enough use out of it since we have bad weather (snow and ice) atleast half the year. I love to ride though.

    Quilly – That would be a shock!

    Reply
  • 5. anhinga  |  January 16, 2010 at 9:54 am

    I see the shoes as an alternative to a treadmill, which I was considering. I think they are kind of cute. One disadvantage, if you don’t use them they are not useful for hanging clothes on. 😉
    Sketchers will let you put a pair on and walk around the store. Also, they have a 30 day return policy.

    Reply
  • 6. Little old me  |  January 16, 2010 at 10:57 am

    I often wonder who that strange person in the mirror is, because it’s not me, No I don’t look like a greying cabbage doll!

    Reply
    • 7. anhinga  |  January 16, 2010 at 8:48 pm

      Little Old Me, you gave me my laugh of the morning. 🙂

      Reply
      • 8. Little old me  |  January 17, 2010 at 11:33 am

        good, I like to spread a smile

  • 9. Kay Dennison  |  January 17, 2010 at 12:32 am

    I understand completely. The day I looked in the mirror and saw my Aunt Eileen (my dad’s sister who my hated), I realized why my mother hates me.

    Mom needs to get a grip.

    It took me a long time to be comfortable with myself. I finally am mostly but yeah, I need to spend some time on maintenance.

    Reply
  • 10. guyana gyal  |  January 19, 2010 at 7:20 am

    Kat, do what it takes to be healthy and the rest will follow.

    Reply
  • 11. SmileymamaT  |  January 28, 2010 at 8:53 am

    “Holy cow! That was scary.”….. OK that was my official laugh-out-loud-and-spit-out-my-apple moment of the day. Thanks!

    [I’ve seen my mom in the mirror too… funny how that works… :)]

    Reply
  • 12. Nessa  |  January 30, 2010 at 1:51 am

    I need to do all of those things, too.

    How’s it working out for you?

    I’m still waiting to begin.

    Getting Reacquainted in 55

    Reply
  • 13. bkrural  |  February 6, 2010 at 4:06 am

    Well, you looked great at Christmas time, Kat! But the trick is . . . use candle light, lol! Remember how Alice’s house was that evening? Yup, soft amber lighting is the way to go!

    Hugs girl . . . bev

    Reply
  • 14. J.  |  February 7, 2010 at 7:36 am

    Maybe we could book a buy one get one free appt at the surgeon?
    I was just remarking the other day that it feels like gravity is pulling at my face. LOL! seriously though, it does!

    Reply
  • 15. Absolute Vanilla  |  February 7, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    LOL – so how is it going – are you eating your veggies and drinking more water?! I remember the first time I spotted a grey hair and a wrinkle – eeeeek! 😉

    Reply
  • 16. Hayden  |  February 24, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    I’m on a really dangerous ramp to the bottom right now. Not a single mirror in this once-Amish farmhouse. I need to find a door, buy a mirror, and take the time. Gained 5 pounds in the first 4 months I was here…because my scale was upstairs and it was “too cold to bother.” Weather is so brutal here, and I’m still coasting on my lazy, coastal habits. You don’t need to be lavish with moisturizers with the fog I’ve lived in the last 34 years.

    Times change. I looked in the mirror recently and was shocked by a network of new lines. And still haven’t gotten energetic about my moisturizers. Sigh. But I did lose one of those pounds.

    Reply
  • 17. Wanderlust Scarlett  |  March 3, 2010 at 2:56 am

    It is fantastic that you want to do it. Are you doing it? Are you making the changes?

    Once you start, it is like an addiction and you keep going, keep going, and then one of these days you will step out of the shower and think – wow! – I look good!

    ;D

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

    Reply
  • 18. J.  |  May 7, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    I keep checking in on you from time to time.
    Hope life is treating you well 🙂

    Reply
  • 19. J.  |  July 15, 2010 at 3:31 am

    and now it’s July. LOL!
    wth? where are you???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds


