Goodbye and Good Riddance 2010

December 28, 2010 at 11:44 am 10 comments

While I won’t say 2010 was the worst year of my life (that honor goes to 1995), this year has sucked enough to nearly take over the title.

My husband, Pap, spent half the year in the hospital, lost a toe, and went sufficiently crazy to leave our marriage as strained and stretched as it’s ever been. My youngest daughter got married, pregnant, toxic and had a baby with colic and acid reflux. She screamed in High C for the first four months of her life. These events combined with my inability to get a job managed to drain our savings. So here we were living paycheck to paycheck when Pap totaled our car (you must look both ways before entering an intersection). That’s when he told me he hadn’t paid for the car insurance. Alrighty then, fast forward through the fines, tickets, and increased insurance premiums to the lawsuit by the driver’s insurance company. His hospital bills are costing us more than the car we had to pay for.

But it just gets better! Pap didn’t pay attention to the mail after his court appearance, his license was suspended and then he got a speeding ticket. The fun just never stops around here. We’re struggling to pay rent and utilities, daughter is struggling with credit cards and babysitting. They have a big house, sounds like a good idea to join forces, right? Well….it’s seventy degrees outside when we make this decision, snowing and below zero a few days later when we actually move. The men pile everything into the garage helter skelter because of the weather, two weeks before Christmas. I couldn’t find a change of clothes for days.

We survived all this, made it through Christmas and I was really beginning to think we’d slide out of 2010 with no further damage.  I miss all my extracurriculars and being able to see my friends on a daily drop in basis , but all in all, the move was a good thing.  That’s what I get for thinking….today, one of my daughter’s friends called frantic for a babysitter. In the process of bringing  the toys, the food, the clothes, and the baby into the house,  my dog ran for the hills.  He’s never been gone this long.  So right now, 2010 has made a clean sweep:  my house, my lifestyle, and my dog.  Pfffttt on this year, good riddance.

Entry filed under: Family, Life, Moving, rants.

If I sew it, They will come Best Blog Neighborhood Ever

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Quilly  |  December 28, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Oh Kat, I am so sorry that one of the best years of my life has turned out to be so horrid for you. Here is wishing you a wonderful and blessed 2011!

    Reply
  • 2. Dave M  |  December 28, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Wow, what a year you’ve had. All power to you for keeping it together, that really must have taken some doing, so lets hope that 2011 is better. I hope your birthday went well. All the very best.

    Reply
  • 3. Dave  |  December 28, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Hiya, long time no type….. Thats quite a year…. you should think about making that into a sitcom. But seriously, it wont take much to make 2011 a lot better.

    Dave (the limey)

    Reply
    • 4. katcampbell  |  December 29, 2010 at 9:23 am

      Hi Dave! Wow, what’s new with you and your perfectly precious little girl?

      Reply
  • 5. guyana gyal  |  December 28, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    It was like that one year for us too, can’t remember exactly which year, when every single thing went wrong. See? In the end, you forget which year it was. I hope all this fades into the background one day, Kat, and I hope next year brings lots of happiness, peace and love.

    Reply
  • 6. LauraJ  |  December 28, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Wishing you all the best for 2011! Lotsa hugs coming your way dear!!

    Reply
  • 7. Kay Dennison  |  December 28, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Wow!!! And I thought I was the poster child for disaster! I hope that 2011 brings better things to you and yours.

    Reply
  • 8. anhinga  |  December 29, 2010 at 5:13 am

    What a strong person you are to have weathered so much. Surely 2011 will be better and each each keep improving. We all have ups and downs, but you seem to have bundled all the downs into one year.

    Reply
  • 9. Jan  |  December 31, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    OMG!!!
    I don’t know what to say. That is one.crap.year.
    wow.
    Here’s to a MUCH better 2011.
    So happy to see you back. I checked in on you a gazillion times 😉

    Reply
  • 10. Hayden  |  January 17, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    oh. my. gd. I am so sorry – sounds like the only good news was that you lurched fr. disaster to disaster so fast there wasn’t a lot of time to bemoan each! Ugh.

    Here’s to a counter-swing into an outrageously good 2011.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds


