Unfit for Human Habitation…

December 31, 2006 at 3:11 am 27 comments

…. the new name of my home formerly known as the house of perpetual remodeling. Decorating eight rooms of my house for Christmas is a labor of joy. Taking it all down and packing it up usually is too. When the kids were small, Pap would load the kids in the car and spend three days at his mother’s while I returned order to the house. As teenagers, my crowd learned to make themselves scarce or be recruited into pack mules. This year, they’ve all gone insane and I’m one piece of tinsel from insuring that I will end my life as a childless widow.

The two grandgirls that live here still have Christmas toys scattered hither and yon that they swear will not fit in their room. Evil Isobelle has finally lost interest in the tree ornaments and favors instead the small pieces of all three doll houses. There are Bratz feet, pony brushes and Tinker Belle herself popping up in every room. As if this isn’t enough mess, Princess decided to sand and restain her bedroom floor and tear out and retexture her ceiling on a whim. The materials for all this work are stacked in the library; the plaster dust is mingling with the regular dust from her room down the stairs to the dining room where she’s set up the circular saw. Her furniture and junk has been relocated to MY bedroom, the hall and stair landing. Pap has cooked enough casseroles and soups to feed a third world country and left the cleaning up for me. The chaos has reached such proportion that my dog won’t even stay inside. He’s curled up on a bench on the porch.

Attacking this problem with a bucket and mop would make more sense than writing about it, but I can’t even do that. On Friday afternoon, Grandgirls Mom and her sister, Michelle, showed up with Juliette and Brendolyn to plead for my babysitting services. My daughter Michelle and her husband are teachers. Those that teach know it isn’t the highest paying job in America, especially when you’re young and trying to raise a family. To make a little extra cash, my son-in-law started a t-shirt business. He makes and sells team shirts out of their home and at tournaments. An ambitious fellow, when he saw how much money he could make at one tournament, he decided to schedule himself into two tournaments every weekend which means Michelle must take care of one of them. Worked fine until she got pregnant, now she can’t carry the press or buckets of shirts…hence, the recruitment of Grandgirl’s Mom. So into the insanity strolls the very busy and sneaky three-year-old and the baby. Brendolyn, who between Christmas and today has decided she has quite a lot to say and isn’t happy unless you’re in her face yakking it up. Like a dog, Brendolyn doesn’t care what you’re saying as long as you say it in a pleasant tone of voice.

I’m not a neat freak, but this kind of disorder gives me eyeball ticks. Somebody send the Health Department, if they’ll condemn it now, I’ll be able to get some sleep before New Year’s Eve.

425 days to freedom…. One year, two months until I’ve completed the term of my day job, finished and mailed the annual report of my last year to the state auditor and strolled home to write full time. Thank you for asking.

Entry filed under: randomness, The Grandkids.

When One Door Slams…and other News Resolved – It’s A New Year

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carleton50  |  December 31, 2006 at 5:24 am

    So, is the “day job” an elected position?
    What if you get re-elected?
    I know, you have to run……….but if it’s an appointed job, what if you get re-appointed?

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  December 31, 2006 at 5:27 am

    Carl – It is an elected position that has been turned into an appointed position because I was very, very clear that this was MY LAST YEAR. I’ll be 49 by the time this year is up, its now or never to chase my dream.

    Reply
  • 3. Quilldancer  |  December 31, 2006 at 7:10 am

    Yay! I’ll help you celebrate that freedom. We all need to chase our dream!

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  December 31, 2006 at 7:50 am

    Absolutely Quilly, life is too short to waste the whole thing on some soul sucking job.

    Reply
  • 5. Catch  |  December 31, 2006 at 12:20 pm

    I had to smile as I read this Katt….it sounds like my house…utter chaos!!! I do a lot of babysitting too….my kids figure if Im breathing..I can babysit! lol. I cant imagine my princess dragging out a circular saw though..shes lucky to know how to use a hammer!!! LOL. God bless you Katt! I wish you a happy new year with a little piece and quiet thrown in..some day they will all be grown…and we will be….older! lol.

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  December 31, 2006 at 6:05 pm

    Catch – My Princess has been my remodeling buddy since she was a toddler. It always surprises people that she knows how to use tool because she’s small, blonde and usually dressed in pink.

    Reply
  • 7. Stacy  |  December 31, 2006 at 6:21 pm

    I don’t have babies and toddlers crawling around in my mess and confusion, but I have Meg and her hoard of teenage girlfriends to drive me insane and add to the mess. I’ll be starting to take down the decorations today, myself, and I can guarantee everyone will disappear rather than risk being recruited to help. Undecorating is like unpacking from vacation. It sucks!

    Reply
  • 8. jackie  |  December 31, 2006 at 7:46 pm

    Kat, hope your eyeballs aren’t still ‘ticking’! 🙂 Isn’t it always more fun putting it all up – than taking it all down?! And at my house, everyone used to disappear about the time it was time to un-decorate!

    Reply
  • 9. Marion  |  December 31, 2006 at 9:42 pm

    This was funny, Kat…it sounds too much like my home…and you made me see the funny side of it! Thank you!

    Have a very Happy and Safe New Year!

    Reply
  • 10. Hayden  |  December 31, 2006 at 9:45 pm

    ahhh, Kat! I hear you – there’s a thin line between the creative chaos of remodeling and utter chaotic disorder.

    Still, you gotta’ be proud of Princess that she a) knows how and b) isn’t intimidated by it. That’s pretty impressive!

    Reply
  • 11. LauraJ  |  December 31, 2006 at 11:08 pm

    I’m impressed that you even found the sanity to blog today. Do yourself a favor and forgo the tinsel next year. One reason I don’t do tinsel! I can’t stand the stuff!! I’ve got what looks like a daycares worth of toys in here yet there’s only boy! Time for a yearly cleaning in here!! Keep your head up…take care of yourself. And HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  December 31, 2006 at 11:16 pm

    Stacy – I don’t really mind packing it back up, but I like doing it in an orderly fashion, which is nearly impossible with kids everywhere.

    Jackie – What a relief to know I’m not the only one who has slogged through holiday decorating alone. I was begining to think I must have been a terrible mother…now we can both say we just had lazy kids!

    Marion – You have a happy and safe New Year too!

    Hayden – I am proud of Princess for many things, I kind of take the remodeling skills for granted since she really has been by my side helping on this old house since she was 4.

    Laura J – Blogging about the disaster expelled the steam that would have been used to snap at defenseless children. We’ve just about got it under control today. You have a Happy New Year too!

    Reply
  • 13. DaveM  |  January 1, 2007 at 1:13 am

    Have a happy New year Kat……….All the very best. D

    Reply
  • 14. Velvet Sacks  |  January 1, 2007 at 4:50 am

    Take a deep breath, Kat…inhale…exhale…have a wonderful new year.

    Reply
  • 15. Quilldancer  |  January 1, 2007 at 4:56 am

    Kat — Happy New Year!

    May 2007 meet all of your needs, most of your wants and see the culmination of aome of your dreams!

    Reply
  • 16. Mr. Fabulous  |  January 1, 2007 at 7:10 am

    Wow…I got eye ticks just from reading that…

    Happy New Year, my friend!

    Reply
  • 17. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  January 1, 2007 at 7:36 am

    Why is that everyone wants to enjoy the decorations, but no one wants to put it away? I have reached the point where I just want things back to normal and so I empathize with you! Blessings for a safe, healthy and happy New Year with less clutter and plaster dust (make sure you do the deep breathing outside!)and I hope you bought yourself an enormous calendar to tick off those days toward freedom and your dream!

    Reply
  • 18. katcampbell  |  January 1, 2007 at 9:40 am

    Happy New Year to you Dave!

    No worries Velvet, I love a good rant. Happy New Year!

    Mr. Fab, don’t ya just hate it when your eyes are ticking? Happy New Year to you!

    Big ole countdown clock ticking away Dr. Kate. happy New Year to you and thank you for the blessings.

    Reply
  • 19. Janet  |  January 1, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    Oh, my, sounds like the house is full of life and chaos! Have a happy New Year! (and I guessed that the countdown was to retirement!)

    Reply
  • 20. John Linna  |  January 3, 2007 at 2:44 am

    There is just three of us all adults and we haven’t started to take anything down. But we will. O! we will. What is this dream you will follow when you quit working?

    Reply
  • 21. Hammer  |  January 3, 2007 at 10:24 am

    I’m dreading it. One time I left it up until march.

    Reply
  • 22. cindra  |  January 3, 2007 at 10:36 am

    Hang in there darlin’. If it makes you feel any better, I had poop all over my downstairs. That’s gotta be worse, i think. but i feel your pain. happy new year and we’ll be counting down with you till freedom.

    Reply
  • 23. Gela the city dweller  |  January 3, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    Hush, sending over sympathetic thoughts for you. I’ve back from my December travelling and my living room is testament of that. Don’t have the energy to pack away suitcases and all that.

    Reply
  • 24. Nessa  |  January 4, 2007 at 7:48 am

    I kept my decorating light this year just because I knew the putting away would do me in. After moving this year and going through box after bax, I just couldn’t do more now that I finished sorting and discarding.

    Reply
  • 25. Mimi  |  January 4, 2007 at 8:14 am

    I hope your chaos ends soon! I know sometimes when the house is a mess it is so mind boggling I can not get to work on it. It just seems to hard to do anything other than stare at it and think about how much I hate it. I kept my decorating light this year because of my toddler. So my clean up was a lot easier and quicker than usual! Thank GOD!

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  • 26. MrsJoseGoldbloom  |  January 4, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    Happy New Year Kat, and I feel your pain when it comes to organizing and the cleanup after Christmas. I still have new board games and puzzles stacked on my dining room table. Where am I going to put them?

    Reply
  • 27. Shelli  |  January 12, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    I thought I commented on this one when you posted it, but apparently not.

    You only love the chaos of children and grandchildren under foot when it has ended. Which it probably has for you by now. I am going to catch up on the rest of your posts to find out. 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2006
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds